Vegan Salt –the blog











{November 26, 2010}   Our Vegan Thanksgiving

-or- What The Vegans Ate.

I come from a big, omnivorous family.  I love them all dearly, but last year, around the time I started blogging, I resolved that I would never again put myself through a Thanksgiving celebration at which a bird’s carcass was on the dinner table.  I am an adult, and I refuse to be expected to accept as okay something (namely; the violence, slavery and death of a being whose body is then picked apart) which is not at all okay, as one of my favorite bloggers recently articulated.  As a result of this decision, I may never celebrate with the entire family again.  But the vegan story ends happily, and with full bellies!

This year, my vegan brother invited us over to a feast at his home, and the meal was so fantastic that I have to share these photos.  His boyfriend roasted a Tofurkey (yes, I know, it sounds funny, but it’s delicious, and stuffed with a savory risotto) with onions, potatoes, celery, and carrots, all perfectly glazed in juices.  He also made a creamy mushroom gravy in which the mushrooms were large enough for the mushroom hater (who will remain anonymous) to fish out, green beans swimming in garlic, fluffy mashed potatoes, and a cranberry sauce in which sherry was the main ingredient!  The dressing (top right of the plate) was my contribution to the meal (recipe here).  Five of us celebrated the holiday with conversation, glasses of red wine, and plates piled with delicious vegan food.  It was perfect.

 

Honestly, we were pretty full by this point, but that didn’t deter us.  I brought the apple pie for dessert (I posted the recipe yesterday), and we had our choice of four vegan ice creams to go with it, almond, rice, coconut, and soy-based, because my brother is awesome.

I went with Purely Decadent’s coconut milk cookie dough ice cream and Almond Dream vanilla, both of which were fantastic, and made my apple pie seem more impressive.   That’s the bottom of my wine glass in the top corner of the photo below.  I’m not sure whether we were drinking Shiraz or Merlot by this point, but it was wonderful.

In the spirit of the holiday, I hope you’ll indulge the following mushiness.  I’m so thankful for the vegan friends I have, among whom I can relax and enjoy a dinner party without having to read labels or brace myself for ridicule or callous references to animal killing.  I’m also thankful for my omnivorous friends who respect my decision to be vegan, and who enjoy my baking.  I’m thankful for my brother’s innate goodness and selflessness, which are the reason he became vegan, and the reason for everything he does in life.  And I’m thankful for good, vegan wine.

I hope you all had an enjoyable Thanksgiving, whether you spent the day with vegans or omnivores.

Rob says:

That all looks great! Glad you had a good time and were able to share it with like-minded souls.



bitt says:

looks good! love the ice cream stack.



Gauri Radha गौरी राधा says:

Looks marvelous!!



Chris Orbz says:

One Thanksgiving I did a pumpkin-everything bunch of dishes. Cook and maybe puree pumpkin and it does a million things well, and it can be made to carry a wide variety of different flavours. I made a pumpkin-base soup and then also a pumpkin stew by thickening it, the base of which could also be turned into pumpkin-based sauces for casseroles, rice, pasta, etc.

I discovered that I actually prefer pumpkin sauce to tomato sauce for pasta since pumpkin lacks the acidity of tomatoes and is a more neutral flavour base, it won’t fight added ingredients the way tomato can.

I also made pumpkin-habanero salsa and I baked pumpkin chips to eat it with.

Oh, and pumpkin seeds of course..



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

