Vegan Salt –the blog











{December 18, 2010}   Holiday Cookies!

You may have noticed that I haven’t posted in a while.  December gets pretty soul-mashingly hectic for those of us in the retail sector.  But I have managed to sneak in some holiday baking this year, mostly for the benefit of my equally frazzled coworkers.  Baking is a great stress-reliever for me, and I tell myself it’s all in the interest of vegan outreach, since I’m sharing them with omnivores who are learning that vegan food can be fantastic, so everybody wins!  These Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies come from page 67 of Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, a fabulous little cookie book for any vegan baker, if you’re still looking for a gift.  The recipe called for rolling the balls of dough in chopped peanuts, then pressing them flat, but when I did that, the peanuts fell off, so instead I pressed the cookies into the chopped peanuts, flattening them a bit while sticking peanuts only to the top side, which worked quite well.

Up next are two variations on the Chocolate-Chocolate Chip-Walnut cookie recipe from page 236 of Veganomicon, which is pretty much the ultimate all-around vegan cookbook.  First, the Chocolate-Chocolate Chip-Cranberry.  I had a serious chocolate craving, and nothing but chocolate cookies with chocolate chips would do.  These have the perfect soft and chewy chocolate chip cookie texture, and the non-sweetened cranberries add a bit of the unexpected along with a splash of color.  These cookies were made with 1/4 cup of dough each.   Mmmmm, irresistible!

Last night, I made an even more festive batch: Chocolate-Chocolate Chip-Peppermint! I put a teaspoon of peppermint extract in them along with 3/4 cup of candy cane bits.  I also made these ones smaller then the ones above; I measured the dough out with a tablespoon, and rolled the top of each ball of dough in additional candy cane pieces before baking.  (It makes them look pretty.)  The peppermint melted during baking, so these cookies turned out a bit flatter and harder to remove from the cookie sheet, but after cooling, they’re actually more sturdy than the cranberry cookies.  I’ll be taking five dozen of these to the potluck at work today, but I wonder whether that will be enough. 

What cookies are part of your family’s tradition?  Have you veganized a family cookie recipe, or made something entirely new this year?

I make chocolate chocolate chip with cranberry and walnut cookies… where have you found non sweetened cranberries!??



Krys says:

I used fresh instead of dried cranberries.



I made chocolate-chocolate chip peppermint cookies recently too! I just used the recipe from the back of the bag of chocolate chips, added cocoa powder & peppermint, and replaced eggs with flax. Voila! Yum.



Joe Snow says:

yum, Danielle from Vegan Treats, the best vegan bakery East of the Mississippi, had a recipe using crushed candy canes but I lost it. I think it involved putting them on top of the frosting so they didn’t melt.



Gauri Radha गौरी राधा says:

These cookies look great!!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

