Vegan Salt –the blog











{December 9, 2009}   What do vegans eat?

The short answer to this common question is plants.  The long answer, of course, varies from person to person.  Some vegans swear by TVP (textured vegetable protein), while others have never tasted it.  I can’t tell you what all vegans eat, but I can give you a look at what my household eats (myself and my beloved, both vegans), by way of our grocery list!*   I’m exposing our fridge and pantry to you and giving you a look at our essential items.   As always when making a grocery list, I’m sure I’ve forgotten something….

Fresh Produce

  • apples
  • bananas
  • carrots
  • lettuce: green leaf or romaine
  • tomatoes
  • avocados
  • onions
  • garlic
  • spinach
  • cucumber
  • grapefruit
  • mushrooms
  • lemons & limes
  • celery
  • broccoli
  • zucchini
  • hot peppers of any and every kind
  • squash
  • sweet potatoes
  • potatoes

When in season, also:

  • peaches
  • oranges
  • asparagus
  • pears
  • grapes
  • watermelon
  • green beans
  • fresh berries

Canned, Dried & Frozen

  • canned black beans
  • frozen berries: strawberry, blueberry, raspberry
  • canned corn
  • frozen peas
  • split peas (dried)
  • canned kidney beans
  • canned garbanzo beans
  • canned refried beans
  • diced & crushed tomatoes
  • olives
  • tomato sauce

Other Staples

  • whole wheat bread
  • flax seeds: pre-ground
  • rolled oats: regular, unflavored
  • peanut butter (natural-the kind you have to stir)
  • walnuts
  • almonds
  • rice
  • whole wheat pasta
  • tofu
  • semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • popcorn: plain, non-microwaveable
  • English muffins
  • CLIF bars (vegan granola/energy bars)
  • tortillas

Beverages

  • coffee
  • fruit juice: orange, apple, cranberry, pomegranate, grape..
  • rice milk
  • soy milk
  • red wine
  • white wine
  • amaretto
  • teas

Condiments, Herbs & Extras

  • canola oil & olive oil
  • vinegar: balsamic, apple cider, and distilled white
  • Smart Balance (non-hydrogenated margarine)
  • soy sauce
  • mustard
  • ketchup
  • soy creamer
  • cinnamon
  • garlic powder
  • chili powder
  • cayenne pepper
  • curry powder
  • basil
  • nutritional yeast
  • vegenaise
  • agave nectar
  • chocolate syrup

Baking

  • organic sugar
  • salt
  • cocoa powder
  • unbleached flour
  • baking soda
  • baking powder
  • molasses
  • egg replacer

So there you have it.  That’s what my partner and I eat, for the most part.  I know, a list of ingredients is only the first step.  For the next, check my recipes, which I’ll be posting regularly, or borrow a cookbook from my library.

*Within each category, items are roughly ranked by how much we consume them.  Roughly.

Carrie says:

Hey, I know this is late to be posting on a blog, but I just wanted to ask you if you’ve ever tried cooking with grapeseed oil. It is my FAVORITE thing! Well, you know… favorite oil.

Kind of scary how close YOUR grocery list is to mine. Not identical, but pretty close. I would never buy celery, for instance. It was put on earth by the devil to torture me.



Krys says:

Carrie, I’m not sure I have cooked with grapeseed oil. But since you swear by it, I’ll give it a try.
As for celery, I’m not crazy about the crunch or the stringiness, and I use it primarily in things like soups and stuffing, where it’s finely sliced or minced AND cooked. =) Tyran likes it raw and plain: for dipping in hummus and such.



ailanna says:

Pretty much the only things that aren’t on my list are the vegan substitutes (butter instead of Smart Balance, mayo, eggs) — and things that I don’t care for, like coffee and wine. I live in a very culturally diverse area, so I have access to ethnic supermarkets where I can get all sorts of interesting mushrooms, leafy greens, and fruit. I actually find it a lot easier to cook vegan Asian food than try to find substitutes for butter and cream and eggs in most western recipes.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
