Vegan Salt –the blog











{January 14, 2010}   Lazy Breakfasts. So, so lazy.

It’s morning and I’m drinking my already-cold coffee (with soy creamer and a touch of cinnamon.)  Normally about now, I’d head into the kitchen and make this breakfast:

Bread with Smart Balance, natural peanut butter, and my mom's homemade jam. Also a banana.

But I’m out of both bread and bananas today, so instead I’m making oatmeal.  I’m a very lazy person in the morning, so you won’t often see a tofu scramble in my kitchen, unless it’s what’s for dinner.

For those of you who think oatmeal is something that comes in packets with riddles printed on the outside and can’t be made without a microwave, I have good news!  Oatmeal is one of the least expensive, healthiest, and most versatile items in your grocery store.  I prefer original rather than quick-cooking.  Here’s my favorite way to make it.

Blueberry oatmeal close-up!

Put some water in a pot, just about 1 inch deep.  Sprinkle oats into it and shake the pot a bit so the oats are all underwater, but just barely.  (Yes, this is how I measure the water to oats ratio!)  Now sprinkle some cinnamon on top and put it on the stove on medium, uncovered.  Go back to browsing the internet.  Your oatmeal is ready when you can smell the warm cinnamon wafting in from the other room.  Add a heaping tablespoon of ground flax seeds and a huge handful of frozen blueberries.  Stir everything, adding a touch of soymilk if it’s too thick, and enjoy!  Now wasn’t that an easy way to start your day with whole grains, antioxidants and omega 3’s?

[…] dress up your fruit a bit; but just a bit.  This is the absolute simplest recipe I know, including oatmeal.  If you aren’t pitting cherries for your fruit salad, as I did this morning, it can even be […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
