Vegan Salt –the blog











{February 10, 2010}   Soup Challenge!

I’m in the mood to make soup, but I don’t want to go to the grocery store.  Proposition: I’ll list what I have in the fridge and pantry, and I want you to tell me what to make!  If your recipe entices me, I’ll make it, post pictures of how it turns out, and give you credit (linking back to your blog if you have one, etc.)  The only rule is this: don’t make me buy anything!  Use only what I have on hand.  Nearly any soup will do, it’s just a matter of picking what to put in the pot and what to leave out.  Here’s the list of what I can cook with:

  • avocado
  • black beans (canned and dry)
  • broccoli
  • butter beans
  • carrots
  • celery
  • mushrooms
  • olives, black (1/3 can)
  • onion
  • peas (both frozen and dried)
  • spinach (fresh)
  • tomatoes (at least 4)

Starches, etc.

  • almonds
  • butter (Smart Balance, of course)
  • flour
  • oil
  • penne pasta
  • brown rice
  • spaghetti
  • tofu (2/3 box, extra firm)

Spices & seasonings

  • basil (fresh)
  • cayenne
  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • curry (hot)
  • garlic (both fresh and powdered)
  • ginger (powdered)
  • hot pepper sauce
  • salt & pepper
  • soy sauce
  • sugar
  • vinegar (distilled white, apple cider, balsamic)

Unfortunately, I only have about 1 cup of vanilla soy milk, and I have a bunch of unsweetened creamer; no broth, bullion, or coconut milk, so the base may be the tricky part, but I think you’re up for the challenge!  Please submit recipes by comment below or by email, not by Twitter alone, or I may overlook it.    Thanks for your help!

Edit to add: I also have about  4 oz of leftover red wine.  Cabernet Sauvignon.

Pearl Renfroe says:

I’d mix the canned rinsed black beans, grated carrots, chopped celery, Mushrooms if they are just button, chopped tomatoes, onion, cayenne, chili powder, fresh garlic, a bit of oil, hot pepper sauce, salt & pepper, pinch of sugar, dash of balsamic vinegar

Cook thick..and top with avocado



Krys says:

Mmmm, that’s sounding good. What would you call it?



Broccoli Cream-ish Soup

Since we’re making this up, I’m not gonna try measurements. I think you can totally do it by ear.

Make a gravy/roux-ish base by putting some oil (preferably EVOO) and Smart Balance in a high-sided skillet or similarly-functional pan over medium heat. Be generous with these fats because they will be the texture base for the soup. We don’t want like a deep-fry situation going here, but use more than 2T, you know what I mean? Once the fats are melted together, throw in lots of garlic and onion, chopped your favorite way. Do NOT raise the heat. Be patient and let them soften up and really infuse with the oil. Add salt, pepper, and a dash of cumin. Once the onions are good and soft, toss in some flour. Do it one 1T at a time until you get a thick pasty-gravy texture going. At the VERY FIRST sign of browning flour (and I mean immediately), add water until you see the volume raise to about the amount of soup you’re trying to make. Whisk like mad and bring the heat up to a boil. It will begin to thicken like a gravy. Remove from heat when you reach ideal thickness and taste. Add white vinegar and/or more salt/pepper/cumin according to your taste. This should be a slightly thick white sauce of sorts, and the only thing you’re adding from this point is the broccoli, so the goal is to make it flavorful with a bit of a tang.

Throw in a crap-ton of just-tender chopped up broccoli flourettes that you’ve steamed in a basket while you were doing the other stuff or in the microwave. Use an immersion blender if you have one to smooth it out. Otherwise, use a food processor or blender.

Let me know if it doesn’t suck, and I might try it myself. Ha ha ha.



Maria Assunta says:

Pea Soup!

Soak the dried peas over night in a large pot with lots of water! This is the base for the soup – (If you don’t have enough dry peas, supplement with frozen peas later on…)

In a large pot over medium high heat, saute the oil (at least 2 tbsp), onions and garlic (fresh) until onions are near translucent. Finely chop carrots and celery, and add them to the saute pan. Continue until all veggies are tender. The more veggies, the better!

Bring the peas and the water you’ve soaked them in to a boil, and add more water if needed. Add what you’ve already sauteed (above) to the now boiling bot. Simmer until soup is thick and creamy. Salt and pepper to taste!



Krys says:

Thanks for your submissions! They all sound delicious, and I think I’ll end up making them all, but for today I’m going for the Broccoli Cream-ish Soup submitted by Mrs. Nix for the following reasons:

1- I’ve made both Chili-style and Pea Soup in the not-too-distant past..
2- Making a roux is something I haven’t quite mastered and I’m feeling up for the challenge today!
3- My broccoli won’t last much longer and it’s a shame not to do something a little different with it.

Pictures will be up on the blog tonight!



[…]   Broccoli Cream-ish Soup Yesterday I asked readers to help me make a soup using only the ingredients I had on hand.  Mrs Nix, writer of the the blog The 1:29 Project, came up with a creamy broccoli soup that […]



[…] see whether my body handles this bug as well as it handled the flu season!  Tonight I’m making some chili, as suggested by Pearl Renfroe last week, and I’ll try to get to bed by midnight, since […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
