Vegan Salt –the blog











{June 16, 2010}   Spicy Peanut Stir-Fry

I seem to be on a recipe kick lately.  I’ll get back to writing about vegan theory soon, I promise, but I made this fun and easy dish tonight and couldn’t believe I’d never posted it on the blog!  That’s tonight’s dinner below, slightly blurry, posed on my yoga mat.  (And yes, I’m mortified that my carrots look like shrimp!)  Click to enlarge.

Here’s my recipe for easy peanut sauce.  In a small bowl, combine:

  • 1/2 cup all-natural peanut butter, either smooth or chunky.  You want the kind that separates and has to be stirred.
  • 1-2 Tbsp of vinegar (white, rice, or apple cider vinegar, not balsamic.)
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • A dash of cayenne pepper

Optional:

  • A pinch of sugar
  • A splash of soy sauce
  • A bit of lime juice
  • a handful of chopped peanuts

Thin with coconut milk until creamy.  Adjust spices to taste.   When you can hardly bear not to eat it with a spoon, set the peanut sauce aside and prep your vegetables for the stir-fry

Heat peanut oil (if you don’t have any on hand, sesame oil, canola, or some other light oil will work) in a wok.   A large frying pan works if you don’t have a wok.  In order, (so the foods which need the most cooking remain in the wok the longest), toss in your choice of the following (or whatever’s taking up space in your fridge):

  • ¼ chopped onion
  • 4 cloves of minced garlic (okay, the garlic really isn’t optional)
  • ½ bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 stalk sliced celery
  • 1 carrot, sliced or in matchsticks
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 4 sliced asparagus spears
  • 2 handfuls of snow peas
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms

Stir continually on high heat.  When vegetables are cooked to tender-crisp, add the peanut sauce and stir to combine.   Serve plain or over rice, and don’t forget to sprinkle with sesame seeds!

I’m going to have to try this one too since I’ve made your coconut curry a few times now! 🙂



Krys says:

I’d love to hear and see how it turns out for you! Feel free to be flexible with the seasonings to suite your own taste. I tend to tone down the heat a bit in my instructions, because you can always add more. =)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
