Vegan Salt –the blog











{September 28, 2010}   No Kidding! A Vegan Diet Healed Me of IBS.

I like to take everything I hear with a rounded spoonful of skepticism, because plenty of stories out there are simply  too good to be true.  In fact, if this weren’t the story of my own life, my own malfunctioning colon, and my own seemingly miraculous recovery, I’d probably dismiss it as bunk.  But the fact is, I was in chronic pain for months on end several years ago.  I was diagnosed with IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) by my physician.  And in the past four years, eating a vegan diet, I have had exactly zero IBS-related “episodes.”

The wonderful and charismatic Christy Morgan, aka. The Blissful Chef, asked me to share my story on her blog.  Read about my IBS misery and recovery here.

Christy is a chef and food educator in L.A. who specializes in vegan, macrobiotic food!  She has seasonal e-cookbooks available for purchase and a full-length physical cookbook coming out next year.  I can hardly wait!  She’s currently visiting Japan, working on farms, sampling the food at vegan-friendly restaurants, and getting a firsthand look at the town where the infamous dolphin slaughter takes place.  Follow her adventures at www.theblissfulchef.com and on Twitter (@TheBlissfulChef) as well.

I’m going to share your post with a couple of my friends suffering from IBS!



Christy says:

Thanks for sharing your story. I’m sure it effects more people than we know and the knowledge you share of your recovery is a blessing to so many!



Krys says:

Thanks for giving me the opportunity! I’ve honestly been pain-free for so long that without your prompting, I may never have thought to write about this. Keep up the great work, Christy!



Natasha says:

I have severe IBS constipation and follow a vegan diet but I’m still homebound.I don’t know what to do.



Krys says:

Natasha, this past year I learned that there are actually two distinct conditions that are lumped into the category of IBS. One is chronic constipation, and the other is a fluctuation from one extreme to the other. I had the second condition, while it sounds like you have the first. Most IBS treatments, and I’m basing this on what I’ve read on the internet, so take it as you will, tend to focus on the kind of IBS that I had, while much less is known about treating the kind you have. I know a vegan who suffers from the same kind of IBS you have, and nothing but stress reduction and limiting processed foods has had any effect, and even those results are sporadic at best. I hope more is learned about the condition soon, since it truly is miserable and limits your life considerably. You have my sincere sympathy. If you find something that seems to work for you, I would love to hear about it!



Sheetal says:

Hi Natasha, have you ever tried colonic? it helps with IBS…



Leave a Reply

et cetera
